Final Blog Post

We were warned prior to starting the module that ‘Living & Working on the Web’ might not necessarily be everyone’s cup of tea, but I am very fortunate that I pursued the module as my knowledge, creativity and enthusiasm for working online has drastically improved. I would never have considered writing a blog before, whereas now I understand just how easy it is to set up a blog and the many positive attributes that come with owning a blog (Dekmezian, 2015).

Self-Test Results

new-piktochart_22613967_8d247d38949fa9eeebddabbbe37390f1ccad208d

The Self-Test displays the improvements I have made from start to finish in the module. All areas have certainly improved, especially participating in Online Communities where I am now an active member on bodybuilding.com- a field that I am very interested in but didn’t have the courage pre-module to sign up. Leaving footprints on sites such as this has also allowed me to find several new connections. Another bonus from the module.

I wouldn’t say I’m a very creative person, I prefer just getting a task done. Before I wouldn’t have had the slightest clue in self-producing content- as you can probably see in Topic 1. Now I am easily able to use websites such as Canva and PowToon, generating my own content; really bringing the blog to life. Zach Bulygo from KissMetrics emphasises the need for original content within blogs, which is definitely an area I’ve improved (Bulygo, 2012).

tagul

(Created via Tagul)

Every Topic had me questioning my own digital footprints and online activity in regards to topics such as being ethical online and being professional online. These are some improvements I made because of the module.

Twitter

I used my private Twitter account for the module, as I wanted to actually implement what we were learning in order to become more professional. I felt Twitter was a network that I could reach more people with, so started to regularly upload blogs; change the design layout.

What connotations do you have with this Twitter profile? The last thing that springs to mind is professional.

old twitter

Now what connotations do you have?

new twitter

Student? Sensible? Professional?

I deleted a lot of my pictures on Twitter in order to become more professional. I’ve had the account since 2011 so as you can imagine I cringed vastly looking back at them. Fingers crossed I deleted them before anyone in the module had a chance to see.

Other Social Media Platforms

On other platforms I started to use the same username in order to look more professional. Similarly, I also changed the privacy settings on accounts such as Instagram and Facebook because of what Topic 4 taught me about privacy. Justine Sacco was a prime example in this topic of how online posts can correlate to the loss of a job (Pilkington, 2013). Now safety precautions are being taken when working online- something I didn’t do before the module.

Further Steps Beyond the Module

Overall, not only did I learn a lot from this module, I fully enjoyed it. The topics allowed me to study new things, which were discussed with other bloggers in the module and then implicated to my online platforms. Further steps will definitely be taken beyond the module such as setting up my own blog. This isn’t the end of Living & Working on the Web it is merely the beginning. 

Word Count: 549

References:

Bulygo, Z. (2012). The Nine Ingredients That Make Great Content. [online] KissMetrics. Available at: https://blog.kissmetrics.com/ingredients-of-great-content/ [Accessed 22 May 2017].

Dekmezian, G. (2015). Why Do People Blog? The Benefits of Blogging. [online] The Huffington Post. Available at: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/gary-dekmezian/why-do-people-blog-the-be_b_8178624.html [Accessed 22 May 2017].

Pilkington, E. (2013). Justine Sacco, PR executive fired over racist tweet, ‘ashamed’. [online] the Guardian. Available at: https://www.theguardian.com/world/2013/dec/22/pr-exec-fired-racist-tweet-aids-africa-apology [Accessed 22 May 2017].

